Rotherham 01709 720348
Bradford 01274 733776

Changes to CSCS card scheme unveiled

Published on 4th July 2016

The Construction Skills Certification Scheme has revealed it is making a number of changes to its CSCS cards, with workers seeking trainee, supervisory and managerial jobs the most likely to be affected.

A CSCS card is an essential for anyone looking for a site-based construction job, as it demonstrates that you have the right skills and required knowledge of health and safety procedures to undertake the work.

Following discussions with the construction industry, the body that administers the cards plans to simplify the way its red ‘Trainee’ cards work from August 1st 2016.

Currently there are a range of red cards for various occupations, but from the start of August only one ‘Trainee’ card will be available and it will cover all occupations.

Trainees must have registered for a CSCS recognised construction-related qualification before applying for the card, but the SSSTS, SMSTS and NEBOSH General will not be accepted as relevant qualifications. Applicants must also have completed the CITB Health, Safety and Environment Test.

Red ‘Trainee’ cards will be valid for five years but will not be renewable, meaning that applicants must complete their course before the card expires. Once they have achieved the relevant qualification, they can then apply for a skilled CSCS card.

Alan O’Neile, Communications and Public Affairs Manager for CSCS, said the change would “remove some of the complexity surrounding the scheme” and ensure that ‘Trainee’ cards were only issued to workers who wanted to obtain industry recognised qualifications.

There has also been an update to the requirements for applicants for gold ‘Supervisory’ and black ‘Manager’ CSCS cards.

To obtain the ‘Supervisory’ card, workers must now have a Construction Related Supervisory NVQ or SVQ level 4, or hold a Construction Related Supervisory NVQ level 3 (course no longer available), and pass the Supervisors CITB Health, Safety & Environment Test.

To achieve a ‘Manager’ card, staff must now pass the CITB Managers and Professionals Health, Safety and Environment Test and either pass a Construction Related NVQ/SVQ level 5, 6 or 7 in the relevant construction management discipline, or hold a NVQ level 4 in construction management (course no longer available).

One final change to the scheme relates to the standing of National Plant Operators Registration Scheme (NPORS) skills cards.

The contractors that make up the Build UK group recently announced they would only recognise skills cards that carry the CSCS logo from April 2017; a move that follows the Construction Leadership Council’s decision to move towards CSCS being the single logo recognised across the industry for operator cards.

NPORS has now taken steps to ensure its cards continue to be recognised by employers next year by reaching an agreement that will allow its newly-issued cards to carry the CSCS logo and a process that will permit existing holders to replace their cards with new NPORS Construction Operator versions.

For further details about applying for a skills card and how it could help your career in construction, visit the CSCS website.

If you already have a CSCS card and are searching for work, take a look at Kalcrest’s current construction jobs or register with us for future temporary and permanent roles.

Back to news

Job Alerts

Let us know your job requirements and we will contact you the next time an appropriate position becomes available.

Sign up for job alerts

We are proud to be members of...